1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bargain Basement Airfare - Best Price In Decades !

Discussion in 'Traveling to and from the Camino' started by BROWNCOUNTYBOB, Nov 22, 2016.

1. BROWNCOUNTYBOB

BROWNCOUNTYBOB Well-Known Member

We are planning our second camino flying to Madrid on Sept 4 and flying back to Indianapolis on Oct 18. I've been checking round trip airfares for several months. The time horizon for Expedia did not allow me to use dates that far out, so I was using dates for an April/May camino rather than Sept/Oct camino. The round trip price per person was very consistent - approx. $1,200. As the months passed, I checked again yesterday. Expedia allowed for our trip dates, with the exception that the maximum return date was Oct 17. So I checked prices and about fell out of my chair when I saw the result. $405 / per person, round trip. Unbelievable. I called the Expedia help line to see if they could override the date so I could order tickets with an Oct 18 return date. Nope. The friendly agent suggested I just wait a day or two then try again. This was such a great deal, I was considering making our return date Oct 17, but this would have required me to change hotel reservations in Santiago and Madrid and for us to modify our camino hiking plan. My brother (he and his wife are walking with us) suggested I try making reservations directly with Delta airlines. Bingo! That website allowed Oct 18 return flight and the price was $405. So we now have four tickets confirmed for our trip. I have no idea why the rates dropped so low - possibly since we are leaving on Sept 4, which is Labor Day in the US. Other factors might include lower prices for airline fuel or the strong US dollar. I first travelled to Europe for a semester abroad in Spain in 1978. I flew Icelandic airlines, stopping to refuel in Iceland, then arriving in Luxembourg. The round trip airfare was around $600. Then in