1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best App To Use On The Camino ?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Topics' started by BROWNCOUNTYBOB, Aug 15, 2017.

1. BROWNCOUNTYBOB

BROWNCOUNTYBOB Well-Known Member

Three weeks from today, we will be enjoying tapas and rioja at Plaza Mayor, relaxing for our camino which begins in St Jean on Sept 8. I've seen several threads regarding good "apps" to down load for the camino. I'm a low tech guy, still worshiping my Blackberry with the tactile keyboard. So I have very few apps loaded and I don't plan to change this. However, my wife, brother and his wife are more tech savvy and are more likely to download apps to help them/us on the camino.

So my question to this forum is what apps have you used and how have you used them? Is this to help you with distance planning, keep you on track, check in with albergues, or what? This won't help me directly, but might help other members of our pilgrim party.

Gracias ! Bob

Garrett likes this.
  2. Greg Canning

Greg Canning Well-Known Member

Hi Bob

I have the Buen Camino and Wise Pilgrim Apps. I like the Buen Camino app for it's maps and use it along the route. It can be a bit temperamental at times but in the main works very well. The Wise Pilgrim App gives a bit more detail on the places you pass through, history etc. I also have Google Maps of course and the other standard iPhone apps including Kindle and iBooks (not that I've use them to any great degree on Camino but useful for reading purposes on the plane/train etc).

Buen Camino

Greg

BROWNCOUNTYBOB and Wily like this.
  3. Galloglaigh

Galloglaigh Member

I'll use HikeSmith for the simple reason you can have quite detailed offline maps. It's based on OpenStreetMap and you plan the route beforehand.