Welcome to the Camino de Santiago forum. This community is here to help you with questions on walking any of the Camino routes. Hopefully you too will stay and help others after you have been on your Camino.

If you register and login you are shown no Google adverts. Please note we also use cookies on this forum – not for anything evil but to allow you to login and use the forum software. We do not collect personal data and never pass your details on to anyone. Come and joins us on your pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela.

Best practices on footcare generally and daily

Discussion in 'Medical Problems' started by belloc, May 9, 2008.

1. belloc

belloc New Member

Dear all

There are many approaches suggested for footcare to avoid blisters and how to deal with them when and if

I was hoping people could share their suggested preventive practices

Thanks
    Mark

2. Jaminmama

Jaminmama New Member

3. Susan

Susan New Member

Hi Belloc:

I work as a volunteer medic at a two-week event where the visitors do a lot of walking, so I mostly see foot injuries. By far, the biggest reason for blisters is wearing foot gear that has not been "broken in" properly. I would not buy a new pair of hiking boots and wear them for the first time when you set out on this trip.

I would also advise a few pair of socks that are designed to absorb moisture. Personally, I like socks that are "cushioned" in the heel and ball of the foot.

Keep your socks and feet clean whenever possible, and you should be fine.

Best regards, Susan

Woodchild likes this.
  4. John Hussey

John Hussey Super Moderator

Blister Avoidance

1. Fully break in your footwear beforehand, whatever you wear, including trail runners or sandals.
    2. Start off slow at the beginning of your trek and slowly build up the miles until some days have past and your feet have become accustomed to the new wear & tear you are placing upon them. If you start out too fast, blisters almost certainly will develop.