1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Much Water To Bring Daily?

Discussion in 'What equipment should you use and take' started by tamrabowman, Aug 28, 2015.

1. tamrabowman

tamrabowman World Gallivanter and Roller Skatrix

California, Colorado and Antigua, Guatemala.
    Hey all. I am hiking the Frances end of Sept through Oct from St. JeanPDP. It's my first time. I can bring a pack reservoir with 3 liters, and a water bottle, or both. Are there lots of fountains on the way, or are there some legs where you need to hike all day with no place to refill?

Also, does anyone bring electrolyte supplements to add in the water? If so, what's the best/lightest to bring?

UnkleHammy likes this.
  2. stevelm1

stevelm1 The Happy Peregrino Donating Member

Home Page:
    I also have a 3 L bladder and plan to fill it that first day out of St Jean, but will carry only 2 L most days. The first day is the hardest, but you also have to cross a mountain. I think there is a fountain or two along thew way that day, but I want to be sure that I am well hydrated for the climb.

UnkleHammy likes this.
  3. danvo

danvo Super Moderator Staff Member

@tamrabowman at Camino frances you don't need much water, maximum 2L, because there are many water fountain on the way.I had 1l and 0,7l bottles and never been without water(nor first day)

4. Sarah JB

Sarah JB New Member

Guys I'm currently on the Camino and water shortage was my worry as I drink a huge amount of water.

I carried 2 1l bottles, one attached to my front strap and my reserve in my side pouch.

I never needed to touch my reserve bottle. I drank loads of water before my day started. At every water fountain, again I drank loads of water to hydrate then filled up my water bottle.

I didn't have any problems. The book is quite out of date there are plenty of fountains and cafes that will top your water up.

I hope this helps.