1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Frist Camino

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Bernard O'Connor, Jun 4, 2018.

?

Is this a Feasible plan?

1. Like

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Dislike

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. Bernard O'Connor

Bernard O'Connor New Member

Hi I am new to the chat,

I will be starting my First Camino in July and my plan is start
    in France, Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port and walk to Burgos which I plan to take 14 days. Then Bike from Burgos to Santiago in 10 days.

Is this a Feasible plan?

Bernard

UnkleHammy and Wily like this.
  2. BROWNCOUNTYBOB

BROWNCOUNTYBOB Well-Known Member

Bernard, my wife and I have walked Camino Frances twice. Both times it took us 13 days to hike from St Jean to Burgos. We took our first (of two) rest days in Burgos. So the first phase of your trip is certainly doable. The distance from Burgos to Santiago is approx. 510 kms. Without rest days, this equals 51 kms per day by bike which seems reasonable. Bob

Martin (Ozzy) Osborne likes this.
  3. Wily

Wily Francés 2016; Portugués 2017; Inglés/Fisterra 2018

Hey Bernard - I agree with Bob on both points. I took 12 days to comfortably walk from SJPP to Burgos. As for cycling, 50 km a day on the average is very reasonable. In fact, on days on the very flat Meseta, even longer distances are quite feasible depending on the pace you want to go. As someone who does a great deal of off road biking, your plan looks like one that would work fine. I wouldn’t be surprised to see you get to Santiago in less than ten days. Sound like a good combo. Buen Camino!

4. Bernard O'Connor

Thanks Bob.

5. Greg Canning

Greg Canning Well-Known Member

Hi Bernard