Welcome to the Camino de Santiago forum. This community is here to help you with questions on walking any of the Camino routes. Hopefully you too will stay and help others after you have been on your Camino.

If you register and login you are shown no Google adverts. Please note we also use cookies on this forum – not for anything evil but to allow you to login and use the forum software. We do not collect personal data and never pass your details on to anyone. Come and joins us on your pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela.

New To This! Del Norte

Discussion in 'Camino del Norte' started by WanderingJ, Mar 29, 2016.

1. WanderingJ

WanderingJ New Member

I am new to the Camino in general and specifically the Norte route. My older siblings have all done Santiago but I am looking for something more difficult and fulfilling! I do have some questions however and thought this forum might help clear up those questions!

For someone who can only speak english, (and some broken Spanish) what is the best guide book to get?

is it necessary to have a tent on this trek?
    - I am planning on Starting in Irun then turning onto the Primitivo leg of the trail and finishing in Santiago

Is Late October to November a bad time to walk this Route? I have heard the weather can be unpredictable

Thank you for any information I can get on this subject!

Cheers

2. RJS

RJS Well-Known Member

Home Page:
    No Problem

The Camino Norte from Irun and then branching onto The Camino Primitivo at Villaviciosa is an excellent choice of route and one that I have walked myself (Although in my case, I split the route into sections due to time constraints)

I used the little guidebooks from The Confraternity of Saint James http://www.csj.org.uk/product-category/csjown/ and backed these up with printouts from Mundicamino http://www.mundicamino.com/los-caminos.cfm

There is no need to take a tent