1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Walking In August

Discussion in 'The Camino Portugues' started by Christine Fireheart, May 31, 2015.

1. Christine Fireheart

Christine Fireheart New Member

Am I mad to consider walking from Porto to Santiago in August. I'm a teacher so can only walk in the school hols so was thinking of starting Aug 13th and planning about 14 days to do the walk, and I realise I'd have to start at sunrise to beat the heat, but I haven't found one post on here saying they are walking in August. I'm not that experienced but have started walking 8k a day hoping to increase week by week in preparation.

2. sean

sean Active Member

Hi Christine,
    You are not mad to start your Camino on that particular date. Many would say upon reflection, that you are mad the first day you contemplate walking a Camino.
    August is a fantastic time upon this walk and enjoy it to your heart's content.
    Sean,
    Dublin

raymond john and danvo like this.
  3. danvo

danvo Super Moderator Staff Member

Christine, there is no wrong time to walk camino. Only wrong time is when you looking for a reason not to go. (as me - i'm old.. i'm alone...etc) Simply go! Of course, july and august is very hot, but you can go early morning and - if you need - late afternoon (siesta is fine :D ) And i think on camino portugues there will be less people than on camino frances :)
    Remember : there is no bad weather, but we are often not very well prepared :)
    Buen camino!!

raymond john likes this.
  4. anjamaria

anjamaria Anjamaria

Hi Christine, I walked the Camino Portugese Porto-Santiago last year at the end of May. I did not meat many people during my walk and felt me very alone during the 2 weeks. Go and enjoy the camino!

5. raymond john

raymond john Well-Known Member

Hi Christine