Welcome to the Camino de Santiago forum. This community is here to help you with questions on walking any of the Camino routes. Hopefully you too will stay and help others after you have been on your Camino.

If you register and login you are shown no Google adverts. Please note we also use cookies on this forum – not for anything evil but to allow you to login and use the forum software. We do not collect personal data and never pass your details on to anyone. Come and joins us on your pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela.

Where To Start?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by colin_alot, Jul 16, 2017.

1. colin_alot

colin_alot New Member

I am very new to this. I am not sure where to start my walk? If I walk all the way to the Santiago, where is the best place to start? I am also thinking of walking in October, is that a good time?

Out of curiosity too, are there any walks in Italy?

Any feedback would be great!

UnkleHammy and Wily like this.
  2. Wily

Wily Camino Francés 2016; Camino Portugués 2017

Hey Colin - Can't help you with Italy, but as far as the Camino Francés goes, start in Saint Jean Pied de Port (SJPP). Cross the Pyrenees and then head west to Santiago. It's about 800 kilometers of great walking! Of course, there could be other starting points like Pamplona, Burgos, Leon, or even Sarria if you don't want to walk the entire CF. I'd suggest that you get a copy of the Brierley book, or another good guidebook, and get a sense of this journey. Typically, a pilgrim walks 12-15 miles a day. Build in a few rest days as well. With this said, if you plan to start your Camino in SJPP, 38-40 days should be plenty of time for the entire trip to Santiago and you'll be all set for an amazing adventure across Northern Spain. October would be a fine time to walk. Even starting in late-September to avoid the older weather in November might be advisable. Buen Camino!

James Orrock and danvo like this.
  3. Terry Callery

Terry Callery New Member

Hi Colin,